X and Y and more

So, a while ago, when I made the move from Blogger to WordPress, this post which was my last on the Blogger platform, somehow got lost in transition. While some of you have already seen it there, I decided to repost it here for completeness. Before you go ahead to read it though, a few obligatory notes:

1. This blog has been nominated for The Nigerian Blog Awards in the ‘Best Travel Blog’ Category. I guess my humble tale of my Bangkok adventures (1-5) had more of an impact than I thought they would. Thank you. Thank you all so much.

Whilst I wouldn’t refer to my Blog as a ‘Travel Blog’ per se, I will not argue. (least of all with my loyal readers/subscribers) Besides, like every other self-absorbed human on God’s green earth, I want to win :-), so please click here and vote for me. Thanks.

2. While you are there, please vote for your favorite blogs also. While some of my favorite blogs didn’t get nominated (Sorry mistress, I tried),quite a few did and I would like to personally endorse the following blogs:

The Toolsmans Blog (Blog of the year, Best new blog and Best Daily read) , Really Angry Onions (Best Group Blog), Twintopia (Best Parenting Blog), ObiSomto and Co (Best Photography Blog), Thoughts from a Mavericks perspective (Best Student blog),  Truth Don Die  (Most Controversial Blog), My scroll, you scroll (Most Humorous Blog) and Sisi Yemmie (Blog by a blogger based outside Nigeria). So, Go! Pless ya hand!

3. Being nominated for this award gave me an idea though. To share travel stories by Nigerians with you all, told in my usual semi-serious tones and with appropriate pictures and commentary. I am thinking of doing this once every month, but as you may have noted, regularity is not my forte. But I will try.

I already have friends who have been to exotic places, ready with stories of adventure to tell, so lets see how it pans out. If you have traveled to an exotic location recently, have awesome photos and  a story to tell, and want it shared, then let me know by commenting below, I’ll get back to you.

Now that all that is out of the way, please read and enjoy:

 X and Y
by @Nerdychique

Edited by @ThinkTank

I beg your pardon in advance so forgive me; this will be a bit of a nerdy post. Please read to the end, I promise it will be worth your while. Will you stay? Please….okay, you’re still here. Good.

I’m sure everyone reading this post did some sort of elementary mathematics; if you didn’t please accept my deepest condolences. if you did, the following question shouldn’t be difficult.

Question: Given the two variables ‘x’ and ‘y’ and a constant ‘5’; how many mathematical relationships (equations) can you write to connect them (e.g x+y=5). Take minutes to try this and see how many you can come up with. Try it…No really, TRY it.

(-_-)

I apologize for putting you through the stress, but there is indeed a point to all this mathematical calisthenics .
Okay, are you done? Your basic answers should look something like this: x+y=5, x+5=y, x-5=y, xy=5, y/x=5; and you could have more complex ones like x^5=y, x=y>5, x=5log(y), y=Sin(x+5), ln(x)=y/5; and then some progressing toward even more complexity like: Cosh(x)+Sinh(y)=5 or even x^7+x^5+x^4-x^3+5x+5 = y, …continua ad infinitum, ad nauseam.

If you thought about it carefully, you would have realized early on that there are almost an infinite amount of relationships that can be constructed. Some of you might have also observed that the amount of mathematical relationships you come up with is also a function of a number of other indirect factors. These are:

i.) How much mathematics you’ve been taught.
I’m pretty sure that @ThinkTank (an engineer) would have more advanced statements than me (aBiochemist). This is because he has been taught; or rather he has had to learn more mathematics than I have.

(@ThinkTank says: “You’re damn right about that sister! Do you know how many equations I have solved in my life time? I can write relationship between X and Y that will be so complex, they will have to get married. You go fear if I start to write equations for you o! We will not leave here till 2012! Jor oh!)

ii.) How much mathematics you’ve been exposed to.
This one is very closely related to the first. It differs only in terms of the fact that you may not have been taught, but you might have come across the math somewhere else, maybe from a friend or you may have had to use it to solve a problem outside school.

iii.) How much research and effort you put into solving the question.
For all I care, someone may have googled ‘mathematical statements’ and come up with a deluge of answers, while other people may just see no point, and answer based on residual knowledge.

My point is, our views on everything in life, much like our answers to the question above, are dependent on the same three factors: what we’ve been taught, what we’ve experienced or come across and what we are willing to find out. If you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m towing the line towards the third one which has to do with open-mindedness. How open minded are you? The Oxford dictionary (sorry I had to go there) defines open mindedness as “the willingness to listen to, investigate, think about, or accept different ideas”.

See, we are all different. Our ideas and opinions about different issues depend on our backgrounds, openness and natural predilections. It should be clear from this that everyone will have different views on the same issues.

There’s nothing wrong with that, but the great evil are the people with closed minds, who refuse to even think about the logic behind another person’s idea or beliefs. I think this is what is referred to as rigidity. Using the Mathematical statement analogy, the rigid student would probably have been the person with the least statements and the rigid teacher would be the one who refused to accept a student’s statements just because he hasn’t seen them before.

Rigid people are everywhere around us, they are the people who argue about issues blindly, refusing to listen or even think. They don’t even TRY to think. Somehow, their minds have been blocked by something: outright stupidity, religion, culture or just a tenacious unwillingness to change.

We all know how annoying it is to argue with someone who keeps who keeps telling you ‘that’s how it’s supposed to be’ or ‘It can never happen’. Personally, there’s nothing that grinds my gears more than people who always stick to the status quo, nothing.

I believe we would be doing ourselves, and the whole world, a whole lot of good if we just took the time to open our minds a little; question things more. Read, travel (you can ‘sort of’ travel online), engage in conversations with people from vastly different backgrounds, ask questions, continually question the status quo, use your brain.

Personally, I have imposed the ‘learn a new thing everyday’ rule on myself. When I realize that I haven’t learned anything, I go to the Wikipedia homepage, and just read. You can adopt whatever works for you. In the end, I believe that open-mindedness is what will bring us closer to unity as a species. But then again, that’s just my opinion, you would do well to have your own.

12 thoughts on “X and Y and more

  1. I read this post on bloggers!!! Nice stuff… BTW does my secondary school excursion to Erin Ijesha water falls 5yrs ago, count? I ve pictures…. ^_^ *strolls to Sao Tome & Principe*

  2. See intimidation o! Ahn ahn! Talmabout equations and variables, just looking at all that x and y business was giving me aa headache. ‎​​L☺l

    Lovely story, very spot on.

  3. Ds is cool but the crazy thing is when I saw X and Y…the first and only thing that came to my mind was “COLDPLAY”

    Am sowri I get lost sumtyms….

  4. ENGINEERS ROCK!!! (<–this has nothing to do with the fact that I am an … *ahem*) Moving on, I agree that open-mindedness would our world and even the solar system, some good; seeing as International Space Station should be something to celebrate and not push against (as some are doing)…
    Forgive me, I've used this spot to campaign but, ONWARD TO MARS! (I really wanna go to space) 🙂

Leave a Reply

